The 13 stripes of the US flag represent the 13 founding states who have united to form the United States America.

The first flag of the United States was adopted June 14, 1777, less than a year after the Declaration of Independence. It then had thirteen stars. Twenty-seven successive versions existed, each adopted to account for the increasing number of states in the Union. The current version fifty stars is the official existing version from July 4, 1960, following the integration of Hawaii August 21, 1959 as the 50th state.