In the center of the white band of the Indian flag is a blue wheel with 24 spokes, known as the "Ashoka Chakra".

The flag was adopted in this form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly July 22, 1947, days before the Indian Independence declared on August 15 1947. He was inspired by the flag of the Indian National Congress and was the flag of the Indian Union until 26 January 1950 and since the flag of the Republic of India.